Payment of all fines, fees and costs is due in full upon sentencing.
Some traffic and criminal charges allow for a Mail-in Fine Agreement. The municipal prosecutor may offer a plea bargain on traffic infraction tickets, which will reduce your points and possibly your fine; upon payment, the original violation will be dismissed.
The court must receive all payments made by the court date indicated on the ticket. If you do not receive a Mail-in Fine Agreement before your court date, you must appear on the scheduled court date and time listed on your ticket.
By paying the fine, rather than appearing in court, you give up all legal rights to which you are entitled. Payment is a plea of guilty to the original charge(s) or the plea bargain. If applicable, the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles may assess penalty points against your driving record.
If you do not wish to plead guilty, you must appear on your scheduled court date.
Additional fines and fees may be assessed if the bank returns a check or if you fail to appear in court. Failure to appear in court may result in a warrant being issued for your arrest, and you could be taken into custody at any time. An outstanding warrant may also result in suspension of your Colorado driver's license. Failure to pay fines can result in your case being referred to a collection agency.
Pay your ticket including fines and fees.
Pay by Phone
Payments may be made by credit card at 303-987-7400 ext. 0, 9 a.m.-4 p.m., Monday through Friday (excluding holidays).
Pay by Mail
If you desire to plead guilty to the original charge(s), or to the plea bargain (if offered), please sign the Plea of Guilty and Waiver of Appearance on the bottom of the Mail-in Fine Agreement and return it with your payment by the scheduled court date listed on your ticket.
Make check or money order payable to the city of Lakewood for the total amount due, as indicated on the Mail-in Fine Agreement. To ensure proper credit, write your ticket number on your check or money order. Do not send cash.
Pay by credit card by filling out the bottom portion of the Mail-in Fine Agreement.
Payment in Person
Appear at the Violations Bureau counter between 9 a.m.-4 p.m., Monday through Friday (excluding holidays).
Request for Additional Time to Pay
If unable to make full payment, you may request additional time to pay at the Violations Bureau counter. A $25 stay fee will be added to your case if you are unable to pay within 48 hours. You will need to complete a financial application and provide financial documentation.
If you are under age 18, living with your parent or guardian, you must provide the above documents to substantiate your parents' or guardians' income.
If you are approved for a continuance, you will be granted an extension of payment for a short period.