Skip to main content

About the Sustainability Awards

The City of Lakewood Sustainability Awards were established in 2008 to recognize leadership in sustainability. Residents, businesses, nonprofits, community organizations, and individuals in Lakewood are eligible to be nominated. Previous awards have gone to green buildings, community cleanups, renewable energy projects and youth leadership initiatives. For a comprehensive year-by-year list of past winners, please refer to the column on the left hand side of this page.



 What Do Winners Receive? 

Awards winners are recognized in the following ways:



Award Evaluation Process

Once applications are received, a panel of evaluators scores each nomination based on how well the projects or initiatives meet the following criteria:

  1. Has a Positive Impact - The project must have a meaningful and demonstrable impact in Lakewood by helping protect the environment or enhance the quality of life for residents.
  2. Embraces Innovation/Creativity - The project should reflect a new concept, technology or practice in Lakewood and should employ new ideas in the industry.
  3. Overcomes Challenges - The project should explain what challenges were overcome.
  4. Is Transferable - The project should be able to be replicated by others in similar situations.
  5. Demonstrates Initiative - The project should reflect how the individual or group took action to move sustainability forward in their position or community.


The five-member panel includes a 1) the Lakewood City Council Pro Tem, 2) the Lakewood ACIC Sustainability Committee Chair, 3) a past Sustainability Award winner, 4) a regional sustainability professional, and 5) a staff representative from the City of Lakewood leadership team.


Award recipients shall be determined at the discretion of the Evaluation Committee using the aggregated scores from each committee member as guidance followed by a vote of committee members. A minimum of four affirmative votes is required to receive the award. A maximum of five awards per category will be presented each year.

Sustainability Awards 2009Sustainability Awards 2011Sustainability Awards 2010Sust Awards 2015Sust Awards 2014