Payment of all fines, fees and costs is due in full upon
Some traffic and criminal charges allow for a
Mail-in Fine Agreement. The municipal prosecutor may offer a plea bargain on
traffic infraction tickets, which will reduce your points and possibly your
fine; upon payment, the original violation will be dismissed.
The court must receive all payments made by the court date indicated on the
ticket. If you do not receive a Mail-in Fine Agreement before your court date,
you must appear on the scheduled court date and time listed on your ticket.
By paying the fine, rather than appearing in court, you give up all
legal rights to which you are entitled. Payment is a plea of guilty to the
original charge(s) or the plea bargain. If applicable, the Colorado Division of
Motor Vehicles may assess penalty points against your driving record.
If you do not wish to plead guilty, you must appear on your
scheduled court date.
Additional fines and fees may be
assessed if the bank returns a check or if you fail to appear in court. Failure
to appear in court may result in a warrant being issued for your arrest, and
you could be taken into custody at any time. An outstanding warrant may also
result in suspension of your Colorado driver's license. Failure to pay fines
can result in your case being referred to a collection agency.
Please note, at this time, only traffic
infraction tickets can be paid
Pay by Phone
Payments may be made
by credit card at 303-987-7400 ext. 0, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through
Friday (excluding holidays).
Pay by Mail
you desire to plead guilty to the original charge(s), or to the plea bargain
(if offered), please sign the Plea of Guilty and Waiver of Appearance on the
bottom of the Mail-in Fine Agreement and return it with your payment by the
scheduled court date listed on your ticket.
Make check or
money order payable to the City of Lakewood for the total amount due, as
indicated on the Mail-in Fine Agreement. To ensure proper credit, write
your ticket number on your check or money order. Do not send cash.
Pay by credit card by filling out the bottom portion of the
Mail-in Fine Agreement.
Payment in Person
Appear at the Violations Bureau counter between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m., Monday
through Friday (excluding holidays).
Request for Additional
Time to Pay
If unable to make full payment, you may
request additional time to pay at the Violations Bureau counter. A $25 stay
fee will be added to your case if you are unable to pay within 48 hours. You
will need to complete a financial application and provide financial
If you are under age 18, living with your
parent or guardian, you must provide the above documents to substantiate your
parents' or guardians' income.
If you are approved for a
continuance, you will be granted an extension of payment for a short period.